Winner Winner Habit Burger Dinner….And Soup!!!

Thanks so much to everyone for entering and even taking a look at my blog! I’ve had the most page views in the last 2 days! This is awesome!! Ive decided, I love GIVEAWAYS!!! I mean, who doesnt?! So, heres the winner!!!!

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

10

Timestamp: 2010-02-19 16:52:11 UTC

10. Jen Crackel- Irene’s- Local Baby, Local.

Woohoo! Way to Go Jen!!ย  Email me at jankynola@gmail dot com for your prize!!

Y’all love some yummy stuff! Looks like out of the 15 comments, In-N-Out was the clear leader with 4 votes. I can definitely get down on a Double Double Animal Style!! Looks like I’m gonna have to refresh my mind on Irene’s! I used to love that place! But trust me, The Habit is worth the short wait! Get the onion rings! Yum!!

Thanks again for playing y’all!

Now, who wants soup? Heres my twist on Chicken Tortilla Soup!

Not Yo Mama’s Chicken Tortilla Soup

2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

1/2 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

2 (14.5 ounce) cans chicken broth

1/4 cup water

1 4oz. can diced green chile

1 cube cilantro(equal to 2tbsp.)

1 cubed avocado

Directions

  1. Cut chicken up into cubes.
  2. In a large pot over medium heat, saute the chicken in the oil for 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cumin and mix well. Then add the broth, water, green chiles, onion, chili powder, cilantro, lime juice and tomato sauce. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes.
  3. Break up some tortilla chips into individual bowls and pour soup over chips. Top with the Monterey Jack cheese, a little sour cream and sliced avocado.

And Voila! It’s so easy and SO yummy!! This soup is spicy. If you want your nose to run, you could always throw in a chopped up jalapeno!!! Good luck with that!

Notes:

I decided I wanted to do a green chile soup. My godmother got this rockin green chili powder from New Mexico! I’m not sure if its available locally, if not, you can just use red chile powder. The cubed cilantros are awesome! I just saw them in the store recently and fell in love! If you wanted to go all green sauce, you could add a can of green enchilada sauce or green salsa in place of the tomato sauce( and omit red powder if you cant find the green)! You can play with the water amount depending on how thick/thin you want your soup to be! This soup was so quick and easy to make! I cant wait to make it again!!

1 cup chopped onion

1/2 teaspoon green chili powder

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 cup tomato sauce

8 ounces corn tortilla chips

1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

sour cream(for topping)

One thought on “Winner Winner Habit Burger Dinner….And Soup!!!

  1. Pingback: Yummy soup & the civil wars. | Jankynola Yummy soup & the civil wars. | blah, blah blog

Leave a Reply

