So Fresh and so Clean. Clean!!

6monthprogresspic

Just under 6 months ago, I decided I was sick of being a fat kid…again. I was barely fitting into my “fat jeans” and I refused to buy any bigger sizes of clothing. So, I was forced to recycle the same 3 pairs of jeans, and layer up on my shirts to hide the fact that they weren’t fitting anymore. (Side note: Layering clothes is not particularly awesome when it’s 100 degrees outside by 8am)

I had read a few blogs about clean eating and stumbled upon the blog, Blogilates. Cassey provides a 90 day meal plan along with daily workout videos. I decided to give this “clean eating” thing a try & used her plan along with some recipes from Instagram & The Gracious Pantry blog.

I started drinking at least a gallon of water a day and doing an hour of cardio 5 days a week. I followed the Blogilates plan closely for the first week or so. Then I used it as a guide to create my own meals. I love to cook and try new things so I new I wasn’t really going to stick with eating the same things over and over like on her plan. For some people, that works. I need a little variety.

I’m not going to bullshit you, the first week was hard. Really hard. I went from eating 2 eggs, 2 slices of bacon, a hashbrown patty and a flour tortilla for breakfast, to egg whites and a half of a banana. It was rough. But I stuck with it.  The second week was mildly easier. But I stuck with it. The third week was a little easier than the first 2. By the fourth week, my clothes were actually fitting. Not tightly. But, comfortably!

It’s now 6 months later. I have dropped from a size 18 to a size 6. My shirts have gone from a XXL to a Small. I am the healthiest I have ever been in my adult life. And it’s fucking awesome!! I look forward to waking up and sweating out the calories. I look forward to cooking up healthy and delicious morsels in the kitchen. I used to call myself the “fatty girl” Now people call me skinny! (I still have to work on accepting compliments as I am quick to correct people that tell me I’m skinny. Because I’m not. I’m healthy!)

I’ve still got pounds to lose but this isn’t a diet. It’s a lifestyle. So, I’ll continue living my life this way no matter my weight!

Now, I’m on a mission to help my Mom get healthy too. So, I’ve decided to share with you the clean eating journey. From the beginning. This journey is modified as my mom is over 65 and I want to ease her into it. Here are the ways I’m getting her started.

1.-Set Small, Achievable Monthly Goals.

Here are her first month goals: 1. Journal everything you eat. (I use the Myfitnesspal app on my iphone. But Mom’s does it old school. So, I gave her a composition notebook.) 2.Cardio 3x/week for 15 minutes. 3. (This is a weekly goal for this week) No eating out. Prepare every meal at home.

2.-Drink at least a gallon of water.

This goal is hard at first. I found that keeping a  24 oz. refillable Brita water bottle with me at all times made it easier. I knew i had to drink at least 3 of those a day. I would drink one after my morning cardio, one after breakfast, and one with lunch. I try to get my water consumption in early so I’m not up all night peeing. TMI? :P

3. Eat every 2-3 hours. Follow a meal plan.

Meal planning is crucial in order for me to stick to a routine. I like to create my plan on Sunday and get shopping for the week knocked out by Monday morning. Trader Joe’s is a favorite stop of mine. As well as Food For Less and other discount grocery stores. I’m trying to get the most healthy bang for my buck!!! :)

I’ll be posting as many pics with recipes as I can on Instagram. If you’re not already, follow me! What are you waiting for?!

4. Get moving. NO EXCUSES!!!

I’m starting my mom on a smaller plan than I did for myself.

I started with cardio 5x/week for an hour. Plus, strength training. I’m still looking to incorporate a regular strength training workout in to my routine. But I know that’s different for everyone.

To get started with strength training, I’d suggest the videos on Blogilates, as mentioned earlier. The Tone It Up girls also have some awesome workout videos AND they just started a really cool 6 week weight loss program yesterday! Complete with meal plans, shopping lists, & a workout schedule! Plus, it’s FREE!!!

So, that’s how we start this clean eating journey! If you have any questions or tips or shoutouts, just leave a comment below!

I hope y’all will join me (and my momma) on making 2013 the year we show our health who’s boss. And no, it’s not Tony Danza! It’s you!!! :)

Happy, Healthy New Year!!!
Peace and Love,

J

4 thoughts on “So Fresh and so Clean. Clean!!

  1. You rock girl! Very proud of you. I thank you for providing this information. I am very curious and hope to find the willpower to follow this plan as well. I really want it for my children for their future health. Thank you again and keep rockin, you are an inspiration!

    • :) Thanks, girly!! Let me know if I can help in any way!! Don’t forget to follow my instagram for all the meals I’m making with recipes!! :) You can do it!!!

  2. that is so amazing! being healthy is the most important! :) but looking cute is a great side benefit! can’t wait for some recipes!

Leave a Reply

